The land on which the historic Crockett Hotel sits changed ownership several times beginning in 1793, when it was first given to Juan Bautista de la Zerda and used for agriculture cultivation. Over a hundred years later, the land was sold to the International Order of Odd Fellows on January 30, 1907. It was this fraternal organization that built the lodge hall and hotel (now the Crockett) in 1909. Oddly enough, one of the five men who formed the San Antonio Lodge #11 of the International Order of Odd Fellows in 1849 was J.J. Giddings; the same John James Giddings who had owned the site upon which, over 50 years later, the lodge built its structure.
The celebration of the 90th anniversary of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the laying of the cornerstone of the San Antonio Odd Fellows Temple took place with great ceremony on April 26, 1909. The 275 brothers dedicated the top two floors of the six story structure for lodge purposes and the first four for a hotel. The hotel's first proprietors were F. Peck and William Nagel.
In 1927, a west wing was added, a seven story addition done by architect Henry T. Phelps of San Antonio. The Independent Order of Odd Fellows maintained ownership until 1978 when it was purchased by an investor from British Columbia. A 60 room wing was constructed to serve the needs of the city for visitors to Hemisfair, the 1968 world exposition held in San Antonio. This event if considered the birth of tourism to our city.
In 1982, San Antonio native, John Blocker, bought the Crockett at the urging of his wife, Jeanne, whose sister, Mary Ann Castleberry, was a past president of the San Antonio Conservation Society. At that time, the property was carefully renovated in order to be faithful to the original building.
Using photographs of the existing structure, the architects uncovered original brickwork, windows and storefront structures, cleaned and repaired trim and cornices, and restored the lobby to its original condition. In addition, an atrium was constructed, guest rooms added and others refurbished.
As a result of this careful renovation, the Crockett Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Structures and architects Ford, Powell, and Carson received Historical Preservation Certification from the U.S. Department of the Interior. Current owner, 1859 Historic Hotels, Inc. purchased the hotel in 1999. The hotel was again thoughtfully restored in 2007 to its current condition and celebrated 100 years of service in 2009.