After the end of prohibition in 1933, James Curtis (J.C.) Riley re-opened a saloon once owned by his uncle with the hope of converting it into a combined bar and liquor store for the residents of New Braunfels. The uncle, Mr. Galloway, was eager to see his nephew succeed, so together they drove to Austin, Texas to acquire the state’s first legal liquor license – number #00001. In the early days, the tavern served just beer and wine, with bottles for sale in the store next door. After liquor by the drink was legalized in 1971, the store was closed and renovated to allow the bar to flourish as its own business. Today, it serves locals every night who stop in to enjoy the every-day live music and table games like pool and shuffleboard.