The congregation traces its origins to 1848, when slaves met for outdoor services. In 1863, Anglo Methodists constructed a chapel for their slaves to use; after emancipation, it became home to African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church, one of the first AME churches in Texas. The current building dates to 1886 and survived the hurricane of 1900. If the chapel is open, step inside for a moment; the distinctive, two-story building has a beautiful sanctuary with a high, vaulted ceiling. The building also features a plaque commemorating Norris Wright Cuney.
Reedy Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church
This is an active church, please be respectful of services.