The John Jay French house is the oldest house in Beaumont that has been restored to it's original state. Built in 1845, the home is one of the first two-story homes, one of the first made with milled lumber, and one of the first painted homes in the area. The museum interprets the life of a prosperous Texas pioneer family from 1845-1865. The historic pioneer settlement, built by John Jay French, tanner and merchant, is replete with antique furnishings, clothing and pioneer household utensils. Outbuildings on the grounds include a blacksmith shop, tannery, privy, and smokehouse.
3025 French Road Beaumont, TX 77706