Originally known as the "Post on the Clear Fork of the Brazos," Fort Phantom Hill was established by the U.S. Army in 1851 and occupied until April 4, 1854. Later, the post served as a stop on the Butterfield Overland Mail Route, a resting point on the Goodnight-Loving cattle trail, a camp for the Confederate Frontier Battalion and a sub-post for Fort Griffin. Visitors can follow trails among the ruins, which include buildings, foundations, and a large number of now-orphaned chimneys scattered around the 38-acre property. Portions of the site are wheelchair accessible, but this is a rustic site. A visitors' pavilion provides interpretive materials and restroom facilities.
Fort Phantom Hill