Organized in 1855, the congregation met south of Mt. Vernon and moved to the site on south Kaufman around 1875. A large frame building was constructed for the congregation in 1869; the present brick structure was completed in 1930. The modern day congregation moved to a new building on Hwy. 37 around 1986 and the old Church is now privately owned. A state historical marker is located at this site.