In 1929, Conrad Hilton opened his fourth hotel in San Angelo. The unique and impressive structure established a tradition of elegant affairs, bustling places of commerce and quality accommodations. In 1932, Hilton fell on hard times. W.L. Moody purchased the hotel and it was renamed "The Cactus." The Cactus no longer accepts overnight guests, but rents out its rooms for events. Apartments and office spaces are also rented by local residents, businesses, and organizations including the San Angelo Symphony and the Cultural Affairs Council. The most elegant room in the Cactus is the magnificent Crystal Ballroom. Hilton originally named it the Marie Antoinette Room. This stately room, along with the mezzanine and lobby, is always in high demand by the community for weddings, receptions, banquets and fund raising events.