The Zion Hill (First) Baptist Church building, located on Lanana Street was founded by the Reverend Lawson Reed in 1879. It is the senior black church of Nacogdoches, and its congregation now meets in a modern building located on Loop 224 East. The Reverend Reed began his ministry by preaching in a brush arbor, later occupied a building near Lanana Creek on land donated by Frank and Ella Walton, and eventually his congregation moved into this building in 1914. This building is the work of noted architect Diedrich Anton Wilhelm Rulfs. It is a combined Victorian and Gothic Revival Building, and in 1977 received a Texas Historical Commission Marker. The church is currently undergoing historical preservation renovations.
Zion Hill Baptist Church
Not open for tours at this time.