German immigrant Louis Bruhl opened a drugstore in 1900 and later moved it to a site overlooking the Llano River. The drugstore now houses the Llano County Historical Museum. Bruhl’s original marble-top soda fountain and leather stools still welcome visitors at the front door. On the counter sits the self-fitting eye-testing machine that Bruhl used until the store closed in 1957. An agricultural exhibit has a 1919 Studebaker wagon bought using money from the sale of one bale of cotton. A ranching display shows how local cowboys competed in polo games during the 1930s. Special exhibits honor notable locals, such as polo player Cecil Smith and sculptor Frank Teich. A pistol display contains the weapon used by Captain James R. Moss during the 1873 fight at Packsaddle Pass, the county’s last Native American and settler skirmish. Historical photos include the Llano Uplift’s largest quarried granite rock, a 40-ton piece used as the base of the Texas Ranger monument at the State Capitol.
Llano County Historical Museum