This scenic park is named for Will H. Hamblen, who in the 1890s pioneered a crude road into Palo Duro Canyon along old Native American trails. This cut 120 miles off settlers' trips to the courthouse in Claude but was steep and dangerous. In 1928, a graded road was built. By decision of the commissioners court, the road was dedicated in 1930 as Hamblen Drive. Today, travelers can stop by the roadside park for great views of Palo Duro Canyon.
Discover more about the history and heritage of the road and the early life of those who settled the High Plains in The Rim to Rim Road: Will Hamblen and the Crossing of Texas' Palo Duro Canyon.