In 1853, German immigrant Hermann Fischer, the first to settle in the area, built a log cabin with two rooms, one of which housed a mercantile store which came to be known as Fischer’s Store. In 1876, the store was approved for a post office and moved into a new, larger building. Fischer soon opened a saloon in that building, where it operated until Prohibition.
The store that exists today was built in 1902 as a warehouse for farm implements and other inventory, but with business growing, Fischer's Store soon moved in. Once the largest mercantile in Texas, employing 16 clerks, the store today looks as if it has changed little since the day it opened. Stop by on Saturdays and Sundays to get a glimpse into the Fischer days of yore!