Fireman's Park

Independence Trail Region
901 N. Park Street Brenham, Texas 77833 (979) 337-7250


The Brenham Volunteer Fire Department sponsored the first Maifest in 1881, and purchased the property now known as Fireman’s Park in 1884. The park features ball fields, an outdoor kitchen, volleyball courts, and several picnic areas. In 1935, the WorksProgress Administration constructed the building that houses a working, antique carousel that dates to about 1900.

Maifest has a tradition of supporting the community. In 1948, funds were raised to build Brenham’s public swimming pool, and today festival profits help to fund a variety of local youth programs.

Perhaps the most celebrated feature Fireman's Park is the restored antique carousel. Discovered abandoned in a field north of town by local citizens, the carousel was purchased, restored, and relocated to Fireman’s Park in the early 1930’s. A 16-sided pavilion, constructed courtesy of the Civilian Conservation Corps in 1935, houses the carousel.

Fireman's Park

901 N. Park Street Brenham, Texas 77833