This unique structure was designed, constructed and financed by African Americans in 1958 as a new home for the church's congregation that had begun meeting in a blacksmith shop in 1924. The building bears witness to the skill of its architect, John S. Chase, with a distinctive roofline that serves to guide the visitor's eye toward the cross in the sanctuary of the church. Additionally, the folding panels—an unusual design feature at the time—increase the functionality of the building, allowing it to be subdivided into smaller areas. Nearby, along Maple Avenue, are other examples of Chase's residential architecture.
Chase was the first African American architect licensed in the state of Texas, and he received numerous accolades for his work, including an appointment to the U.S. Commission on Fine Arts. Chase also sought to advance the cause of other men and women in his field and, in 1971, helped found the National Organization of Minority Architects.