Camp Street Cafe & Store serves up the best in acoustic roots music, in the shadow of the Houston County Courthouse.
Lovelady rancher V.H. “Hoyt” Porter bought the property, which lies near Crockett’s depot, around 1930. He soon built a structure there on a strip dubbed “Camp Street” by the locals, because freighters and families on shopping trips totown had often camped on the land with their wagons. For the next four decades, the building housed various enterprises, including a café, a barbershop, and a pool hall; legendary Texas bluesman Sam "Lightinin'" Hopkins, Frankie Lee Sims and other musicians played there for tips during the 1940s. Then, for many years, Camp Street lay vacant.
In 1998, the Porter property got a second lease on life when Hoyt’s grandsons Guy and Pipp Gillette, sons of photographer Guy Gillette, opened the Camp Street Café and Store in a false-front tin building built in 1931. The integrity of the original building has been maintained in the extensive recent restoration, and atmosphere abounds.
On most Saturday evenings at 8:00pm, and occasionally during the week Guy and Pipp host performers with a range of musical styles – blues, Western, bluegrass, Celtic, all enjoyable. .
Camp Street Cafe & Store
.Ticket prices available online and by calling
Contact for more information.