The Brenham Fire Museum - a.k.a. Brenham Fire Company # 1 Fire Museum, was designed tohouse Samanthe, the 1923 American LaFrance Type 38 that the Brenham Fire Department owned. Purchased April 2, 1923 from the manufacturer in Elmira, NY, Samanthe is one of only three left of its kind. Only 34 fire engines of this type were produced between early 1900 and 1930.
Samanthe made her first trip to Brenham on a rail car. Firefighters E. P. Davis and E. W. Pflughaupt took delivery of her and Brenham Mayor A.A. Hacker accepted her on behalf of the City. Samanthe served the citizens of Brenham for many years; the last fire she made was at a house fire at 101 N. Chappell Hill Street, which is the current location of the Brenham Fire Station. After she was retired, it became a goal of the Fire Department to have her restored to her original grandeur.Through a combination of private donations and grants, a museum was finally constructed next to the Heritage Museum and the 1879 Silsby Steamer.
The museum is now home to Samanthe, and a 1950 American LaFrance, the Invader. Inside the museum, visitors can view fire artifacts from the department's long history, the Wall of Honor, a unique tribute to all the men and women who have served as members of the fire department since its inception in 1867, and a Roster of all the Mascots who have served.