The town’s name came from one of the first conductors, W. T. Colmesnil, on the Texas and New Orleans Railroad which ran through Tyler County. The Trinity and Sabine Railroad would extend a 66-mile line from Colmesneil to the town of Trinity, establishing the town as the shipping focal point for the county from 1881. Timber and cattle were the foremost commodities to sell due to the steep slope of the terrain. From the 1880s, the Yellow Pine Lumber Company would operate a mill there, and for a while, Colmesneil’s population would be greater than Beaumont. Colmesneil is well situated for outdoor recreation, being just west of B. A. Steinhagen Lake and nearb Lake Tejas, and Colmesneil boasts small community living nearby towns of Town Bluff and Woodville in northeastern Tyler County.