Stagecoach Stop

Built circa 1850.

Credit: Pat Hrdlika

Unknown Origins

Despite owning the land it was built on, Fisher and Miller likely did not occupy this house. Old-timers in Mason used to say a Lieutenant Marcus Jones lived here, but no one by that name was listed with the Army while Fort Mason was active between 1851-1869.
Pictured: National Intelligencer (Washington D.C.) May 13, 1847. The treaty between Meusebach and the Comanche Chiefs was so momentous, that national newspapers reported the occasion.
Credit: Portal to Texas History.

Company Housing

The stagecoach route through Mason followed the Pinta Trail, which was first used by nomadic Indians, and later by Spanish explorers. Known by many names, including Pinto, Pintas, Pientas, and Paint Road, the route was likely named for the pinto horse, a calico breed that was preferred by Plains Tribes for its natural camouflage.
Credit: "A Comanche," Frederic Remington (1888). Public domain.

The Many Lives of the Pinta Trail

Fuel wood freighters in pre-automobile years. Date unknown.
Credit: Portal to Texas History.

Danger on the Stage Route!

The Stagecoach Stop as it appeared in 1972, prior to restoration. Source: Mason County Historical Commission.