208 W. 14th St.
From 1874–79, the Wahrenberger House served as a boarding house and school for female students of the German-American Ladies College. Jacob Bickler's school for boys, the Texas German and English Academy, then occupied the house from 1880–86.
Charles Klein was the original owner of the house, which was built in 1868. In 1882, he deeded it to his daughter, Caroline, who had been married to John Wahrenberger. A skilled baker who had come to Texas from Switzerland in 1839, Wahrenberger fought the Indians and became one of the first permanent citizens of Austin. He operated a bakery on Congress Avenue for years. The Wahrenberger's daughter, Mary, received her formal education in Switzerland and returned to live in the house and raise her family with the help of her husband, H.E. Lindeman. The Wahrenberger House is a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.