411 E. 5th St.
German immigrant Joseph W. Hannig was a cabinetmaker and undertaker, as well as the fifth husband of Susanna Dickinson, the “Messenger of the Alamo.” She survived the battle and brought the news of its fall to Sam Houston, which ultimately led to Houston's defeat of Santa Anna at the Battle of San Jacinto and won independence for the Republic of Texas. Hannig was one of the richest men in Austin during the late 19th century. Now known as the Susanna Dickinson Museum, their former home is dedicated to Susanna Dickinson’s life. The museum features Dickinson family artifacts, as well as furniture made by Hannig. The 1869 house is an example of the “rubble-rock” architectural style, which was brought to the Texas Hill Country by German immigrants. It’s a City of Austin Landmark. Just a few blocks away at 206 E. 6th St. is an ornate commercial building that was owned by and named after Hannig.
Photos (left to right): Dickinson Hannig House as Randy's BBQ in 1949; Dickinson Hannig House today.